Google clarifies it does capture location data after Location History is turned off

Earlier this week, the AP reported that Google continues to collect user location data even when user Location History is turned off. In response, Google initially said that the company was being clear and not hiding anything or misleading consumers: “[W]e continue to use location to improve the Google experience when they do things like perform a Google search or use Google for driving directions.”

While that was all technically true, the company wasn’t being clear enough. So, according to an update from the AP this afternoon, Google has now changed some of the text on a page explaining how to “manage or delete” Location History. The new language reads:

This setting does not affect other location services on your device, like Google Location Services and Find My Device. Some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other services, like Search and Maps.

Read More Here